Asakusa is housed in a small residential property built in 1965 in Asakusa, one of the Tokyo’s most bustling tourist districts, and is located steps away from busy streets in a secluded area where 20 households live side-to-side and back-to-back, forming a discreet colony. The renovation project took place in early 2015 in collaboration with architect Kosaku Matsumoto (Blue Architects, Zurich) and curator Koichiro Osaka (SCAI The Bathhouse, Tokyo).

During three months of an onsite residency, Matsumoto and Osaka engaged in day-to-day discussion and construction, constantly reworking the spatial design in life-size scale of 1/1. The use of architectural drawings and scale models were abandoned as they extracted elements intrinsically linked to the neighborhood. While ensuring direct and continual access to building materials, the project sought to evoke the participants’ response to existing features as the house was being dismantled, and articulate a process of reconstruction where each segment becomes a realization of conceived dialogue. Suggesting how the formation of mutual consensus itself becomes an aim of the architectural project, the project also poses a hypothetical question on wholeness and segments: How is it possible to avoid conceptual reductionism and suspend wholeness in a reflective state through external effects? As the house is lived and performed, it acts as a responsive medium active in relation to the surroundings.

This project stems from a small conversation on the Graham Harman’s short text, The Third Table published through dOCUMENTA (13), and his discourse on the object-oriented philosophy.

Gen Adachi / Khalid Albaih / Serafín Álvarez / Aoyama | Meguro Gallery / ARCUS / Masaru Araki, Okayama University / Taka Atsugi / Oliver Beer / Pauline Boudry, Renate Lorenz / Federica Buzzi / Yin-Ju Chen / Daiwa Anglo-Japanese Foundation / Guy Debord / Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei / James T. Hong / IM Heung-soon / Thomas Hirshhorn / Mikhail Karikis /Kawakami Laboratory / Makoto Kinoshita / Yuki Kobayashi / Lawrence Lek / Matthieu Lelièvre / LUX / Tomoyoshi Murayama / Akiyoshi Nita / Yen Noh / Eiji Oguma, Keio University / Tatsuo Okada / Toki Okamoto / Yoshua Okón / Yoko Ono / Koichiro Osaka / The Otolith Group / Luke Caspar Pearson / Raymond Pettibon / Prokino / Sanya Labour Welfare Hall Action Committee / Sanya Production and Screening Committee / Mateusz Sapija / Mitsuo Sato / SCAI The Bathhouse / Tomoko Shimizu / Santiago Sierra / Kristin Surak / Swiss Embassy, Tokyo / Rirkrit Tiravanija / Anton Vidokle / Kyoichi Yamaoka / Masamu Yanase / Héctor Zamora and more.

Current project members:
Koichiro Osaka, Mariko Mikami

Koichiro Osaka